OSTARA: ‘THE GODDESS COLLECTION’

by lacedunlaced

Having drafted the pattern several years ago I recently found the time to make up one of my personal projects: a longline girdle inspired  a 1940’s utility corset from my own vintage collection.

OSTARA is the second corset in ‘The Goddess Collection’. Ostara is the Nordic Spring Goddess.

The corset is constructed from a silk taffeta backed with coutil (pin rolled pieces). Centre front and centre back casings also made with silk backed with coutil

For this sample I chose to omit the underbelt seen on the original 1940’s garment focussing on cut and shape over making a historically accurate reproduction. For a detailed study of the original Avro garment follow the link to my other blog.

The corset is finished with gold hardware including the busk and eyelets contrasting nicely with the silk- a little out of my comfort zone as I don’t tend to work with gold. I chose to use a  busk the length of the centre front panel rather than the original garments reduced length and  hook and eye feature to the lower section.

The corset is decorated with gold tone hand cut lace applique and finished with bead and sequin embellishment.

Pattern drafted using CAD system

Plain finished corset front view

Plain finished corset back view

Progress of lace application

Being watched…

Flat lay of the finished corset with lace application

Close up detail of lace

Finished corset

Finished corset on the mannequin

Finished corset on the mannequin front view

Just before writing this article I used the corset in a photoshoot. I’m really excited to show you the images in a later post.